PASC15 Conference: Contributed Talks Proposals due on March 16, 2015

The submission deadline for Contributed Talk proposals at the PASC15 Conference has been extended to March 16, 2015. We look forward to receiving your submission for a Contributed Talk, or for a Poster presentation! We would be grateful if you could forward this communication to potential candidates in your professional circles.

We also want to thank all those who responded to our Call for Participation with a Minisymposium contribution. We have received excellent submissions and we will be honored to host 124 minisymposium talks in our program.

Finally, we would like to take this occasion to share with our friends and colleagues that Nobel Prize in Economics in 2011 Thomas Sargent will be leading the Public Lecture on Tuesday, June 2, 2015.


The Platform for Advanced Scientific Computing (PASC) is delighted to launch a Call for Participation to its next conference (PASC15) to be held from June 1 through 3, 2015 at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich, Switzerland.

PASC15 Conference
June 1-3, 2015
ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Scope of the conference

PASC15 Conference is inviting researchers from diverse scientific background to promote interdisciplinary collaboration and exchange of expertise in HPC and computational science. The conference is an opportunity for researchers and practitioners in branches of science that require computer modeling and high-performance simulations to discuss computational techniques and technologies. PASC15 Conference seeks to engage participants from the academia, research labs and industry to address important issues in HPC and computational science resulting from applications of interest to society and hardware innovations.


PASC15 Conference will offer four plenary sessions, one public lecture, 124 mini symposium talks, up to 24 contributed talks, one inter-PASC Networks discussion, one joint plenary session with the satellite conference Frontiers in Computational Physics, a poster session, and information stands.


Researchers from the academic and from the corporate world are encouraged to participate and present their research area in the form of contributed talks and/or poster presentations. We are grateful for the excellent submissions received from allover the world for Minisymposia presentations. PASC15 welcomes submissions in the following scientific fields:

•   Climate and Weather
•   Solid Earth
•   Life Science
•   Chemistry and Materials
•   Physics
•   Computer Science and Mathematics
•   Engineering
•   Emerging Domains

Abstracts are to be submitted using the online submission system. Cross-disciplinary approaches are highly solicited.
Guidelines about the submission process are available at:

Submission Deadlines

Minisymposia: submission portal closed
Contributed Talks: March 16, 2015
Posters: March 30, 2015

Invited Speakers

•   Jacqueline Chen – Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at the Combustion Research Facility at Sandia National Laboratories, USA
•   Giulia Galli – Professor in the Institute for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago, USA
•   David Keyes – Director of the Extreme Computing Research Center at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia
•   Thomas Sargent – Nobel Prize in Economics in 2011 and Professor of Economics at New York University, USA
•   Volker Springel – Professor for Theoretical Astrophysics at Heidelberg University, Germany
•   Bjorn Stevens – Director at the Max-Planck-Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg, Germany

Scientific Committee

Michael Bader, TU München, Germany
Peter Bauer, European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts, UK
Isabelle Bey, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
George Biros, The University of Texas, USA
Bastian Chopard, University of Geneva, Switzerland
Andreas Fichtner, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Maria Grazia Giuffreda, Swiss National Supercomputing Centre, Switzerland
James J. Hack, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Jan Hesthaven, EPF Lausanne, Switzerland
Torsten Höfler, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Petros Koumoutsakos, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
George Malcolm Stocks, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
Nicola Marzari, EPF Lausanne, Switzerland
Satoshi Matsuoka, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Dave May, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Markus Meuwly, University of Basel, Switzerland
Siddharta Mishra, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Ben Moore, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Kenko Nakajima, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Michele Parrinello, Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland
Markus Püschel, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Christoph Schär, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Matthias Scheffler, Fritz Haber Institute, Germany
Olaf Schenk, Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland
Thomas Schulthess, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Horst Simon, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Romain Teyssier, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Jeroen Tromp, Princeton, USA
Matthias Troyer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Laurent Villard, EPF Lausanne, Switzerland
Rich Vuduc, Georgia Tech, USA


Please refer to PASC15 website for further information about the conference and the supporting organization: